General Studies

French open grand slam – 2012


Men’s Singles: Rafael Nadal (Spain) clinched French Open title for seventh time by defeating World number one Novak Djokovic (Serbia) by 6-4, 6-3, 2-6 and 7-5 here at Paris. He is the only player who has won the title for the seventh time. Earlier he was sharing the record with Bjorn Borg who has won the six French open titles.

Women’s Singles: In Women’s singles, Maria Sharapova (Russia) defeated Sara Errani (Italy) by 6-3 and 6-2 to clinch the French Open 2012 title.

Men’s doubles: Max Mirni (Belarus) and Daniel Nestor (Canada) beat Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan (both USA) by 6-4 and 6-4

Women’s doubles: Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci (both Italy) beat Maria Kirilenko and Nadia Petrova (both Russia) by 4-6, 6-4 and 6-2.

Mixed doubles: Sania Mirza and Mahesh Bhupati (both India) defeated Klaudia Jans-Iqnacik (Poland) and Santiago Gonzalez (Mixico) by 7-6 and 6-1.